Hardy Boys Adventures #11 Showdown at Widow Creek

A few details to share about #11 of the Hardy Boys Adventures:
Title: Showdown at Widow Creek
Release Date: Feb. 2, 2016
Number of pages: 160
Available formats: paperback, hardcover and ebook
Cover: (Also, check out the cover for Hardy Boys Adventure #10
Tunnel of Secrets)

Hardy Boys Adventures 11 Showdown at Widow Creek Cover
Synopsis:

The Wild West hits the East Coast when Rutherford’s Annual Rodeo and Wild West Show arrives in Bayport. Frank and Joe are enjoying the show’s historic reenactments, rodeo events, and even an exhibition of the Rutherford family’s prize-winning horse, Hondo.

When the brothers catch several ranch hands trying to steal Hondo, they manage to stop it. Though very grateful for their intervention, the Rutherford family is now shorthanded for the cattle drive back to their dude ranch! So Chief Olaf “volunteers” the Hardys to help out.

The brothers’ long-dormant horse-riding skills slowly come back to them as they make their way down the quiet rural roads toward the ranch. But as they’re finally getting the hang of it, a group of dirt bike–riding cattle rustlers surround the herd—and take Hondo!

Will the Hardy Boys lasso the horse thieves—or will this be their final showdown?

:/ “long-dormant horse-riding skills” doesn’t make sense/apply to the Hardys. 🙄 Hopefully, though, that aside, there will be some good action scenes. 😎

Disclaimer: Please feel free to ignore the random ads that pop up on the blog. I don’t choose them or have any say about what ones they are since this is a free blog. Most of the ads are pointless and irrelevant junk in my opinion. 

 

11 thoughts on “Hardy Boys Adventures #11 Showdown at Widow Creek

      • Sorry just now answering this! I like the cover. I’ve been anxious to read the first chapter to see if I want it when it comes out since they sometimes put the chapter up early. Um, some things are very curious in the synopsis. Why say long-dormant, is the writer going to portray them as not good horsemen? Idk. I’m hoping it’s good. I’m not a Chief Olaf fan, I find him annoying. But I’m going to check it out anyway. Since the book is coming out next week, that made me want to come find this post. I did a search and found it. So glad I did! Very sorry I hadn’t answered! 😮 😮

        • That’s ok, Hardy Sleuth, no worries. I totally understand. 🙂 Yep, I like when the 1st chapter is up before the book to get an idea of the writing. 😎 You’ll be glad to know then that Chief Olaf isn’t in it a lot. 🙂 Yep, he’s definitely annoying. Glad you did. No problem. 🙂

  1. They finally did it!! 🙂 This is the kind of writing I was hoping for when this series was announced; it took a while, but here it is!! 🙂 This book truly deserved the category title of “Adventure”!! 🙂 I read the sample on the day it was released and was amazed!! 🙂 The writing is good!! 🙂 The brothers are intelligent and witty – quite similar to the Frank and Joe Hardy we know and love!! 🙂 I was interested in reading more, so I bought the book and am glad I did!! 🙂 It was really good!! 🙂 Adventure, action, fun, mystery, et cetera!! 🙂 I wish I knew who wrote this particular book; I would love to thank them for their great writing and for making a dream come true: having a cover-to-cover Hardy-style book in the Hardy Boys Adventures series!! 🙂 The first two books and Granite Peak had some good writing in them, but there were parts that were hard for me to put up with. Showdown at Widow’s Creek had a lot of actual knowledge in it; the author knows whereof they are writing – I love that!! 🙂 I hope this author writes more for this series or publishes stories on their own (I hope they would let us know so we could be sure to read the books!). Anyone who enjoys reading Hardy Boys books would enjoy reading this author’s work, with this book as an excellent example!! 🙂 Whoever you are, please keep up the great work; I hope to read many more books by you!! 🙂 It was great fun!! 🙂 I look forward to rereading it; it was hard to put it down even for a minute!! 🙂 Callie

    • That’s cool and what a great review, Callie! 🙂 Awesome! That would be nice to know who the good authors are who gets the characters right and can craft a good mystery. “Hard to put down” now that’s the way a mystery should be! I enjoyed reading your review, Callie! Thanks for the info about how good it is! 🙂

      • Thank you so much, Hardy Sleuth!! 🙂 You are welcome. 🙂 It was such a nice surprise to find a good mystery in this particular series; I was hoping for it, not giving up, despite so many disappointments. This one is good!! 🙂

    • Yep! 😎 I got it within 24 hrs of its release and read it right after. A lot of good stuff in it without a doubt. Love your review, Callie! You said it so very well. 🙂 😎 That would be helpful to know – hope this author writes more, too. Yep, My favorites so far in the Hardy Boys Adventures would be the first half of Secret of the Red Arrow, parts of Mystery of the Phantom Heist and the majority of Showdown at Widow Creek. 😎 Like you said, action, adventure, etc.. Good humor and brotherly love. I need to write up my review, too. 🙂 Hopefully the writer will see your post and know how much you (and the rest of us, too!) appreciate their writing. I definitely want to re-read it, too. And you said it about hard to put down. 😎 Really excellent, fun review, Callie! 😎

      • Cool!! 🙂 Thank you, Ann. 🙂 True. I look forward to reading your review!! 🙂 I hope so, too!! 🙂 Thank you. 🙂

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)