Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys Super Mystery #2 Danger Overseas ~ My Review

This second volume of the Nancy Drew Girl Detective and the Hardy Boys Undercover Brothers Super Mystery, Danger Overseas, starts off with some action from the Hardy brothers fighting bad guys – always a good place to start. 🙂 There’s some humor, too. 😎 It’s cool when a book starts off with the action of the current case and then goes to the next one. It’s like a bonus with two stories. 🙂 There have been some Undercover Brothers books where that was the best part.

The brothers’ next American Teens Against Crime (ATAC) mission, a crime-fighting organization started by their dad Fenton Hardy, is at an archaeological dig in Italy. I like the way the ATAC mission assignments are given like games or music CDs and then they reformat, effectively erased, clearly inspired by Mission Impossible. 😎 And btw, Aunt Trudy would totally know about ATAC in reality. The Hardy brothers’ assignment was to investigate an American’s arrest for trying to sell stolen artifacts.

Nancy, cousins George, and Bess are in Rome, Italy with the cousins’ Aunt Estelle. She treated them to a trip there, which was nice and generous of her. There are other things there than the mythology stuff, but there was focus on that. To me, mythology with false gods is very, very boring, so whenever that was mentioned it was…well, very, very boring. Thankfully there wasn’t a whole lot of it in the book. I did have to forgive Aunt Estelle for the rudeness about Nancy, George, and Bess’ (and my) adjective use.

They help an amnesia pickpocket and she was really difficult to put up with, since she was extremely obnoxious to those going out of their way to help her – very whiny. 🙄 I admire Nancy very much because she did the right thing and helped her regardless of how annoying Thief Girl got. Nancy’s a very good example of being kind and gracious even when faced with a real brat. Admirable. SPOILER WARNING *Amnesia Thief Girl is Caitlin, a missing person of interest in the arrested American’s case* END SPOILER WARNING

While reading this mystery, I got curious about Corsica, an island located off the coast of Italy, and looked it up. Learned about their history, their flag, etc.. So this book did inspire me to find out more and that’s cool. 🙂

As far as original characters go in this one, the two best were Sam Lewis, the American who was arrested by the Italian authorities for attempting to sell stolen archaeological items, and the English archaeology lady, each one with a backstory that will make you feel sorry for them. They were both helped by our friends and I liked that. As I already mentioned, the whiny amnesia victim caused a lot of problems mostly brought on by brattiness and selfishness, a very narcissistic person.

I can usually find some good parts in a Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew book, and this one was no exception. 🙂 I have three favorite scenes. I like that Frank sent up a silent prayer (and not to any false god, but to the Creator). 😎 Another favorite part was when Joe was worried about his big brother. Then when Joe disappeared and Frank, also a good brother being very concerned. 😎

There were a couple of times the detectives would have been smarter.

I’m reading this for the second time and I feel the same way about it. It starts off good and ends good. 🙂

 

 

Disclaimer: Please feel free to ignore the random ads that pop up on the blog. I don’t choose them or have any say about what ones they are since this is a free blog. Most of the ads are pointless and irrelevant junk in my opinion.

4 thoughts on “Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys Super Mystery #2 Danger Overseas ~ My Review

  1. Yay!!! Thanks for doing my request!!! 😀

    I agree with all you say about this book.
    Same here! My favorite part was when Joe went missing, and Frank was very worried about him. Shows they really care about each other. Great brothers! 🙂 ❤
    My favorite thing about the HB is always brotherly love. ❤
    Oh, and I love that you mentioned that Frank sent a silent prayer to God, and not any false gods. That is 100% so true about him.

    • Aw, you’re very welcome, Seema! 🙂 I wanted to have it done before now, but finally did. 🙂

      Cool, thanks so much! 🙂
      Yep, exactly, well said! 😎
      I definitely adore brotherly love! 🙂 ❤ I'm about to post my review The Hardy Boys #30 The Wailing Siren Mystery – a lot of great things in the book – plenty of brotherly love!!!! 🙂
      Oh, cool, thanks! 🙂 Absolutely! I really appreciate you letting me know that! 🙂

  2. I enjoyed reading your review, Ann! 🙂 Not interested in reading the book, though. 😎 I have no doubt that you were very kind in your review & there was enough clues there to tell me that I don’t want to read this one. Thank you so much for that! 🙂

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

