Hardy Boys Adventures #12 The Madman of Black Bear Mountain ~ My Review

Volume 12 of the Hardy Boys Adventures, The Madman of Black Bear Mountain, is available now and it’s a fun, exciting summer read! 😎 There’s an intriguing mystery to be figured out, warnings to be ignored, as well as quite a few chuckles to be found as the Hardy bros go on a camping trip to Black Bear Mountain. I enjoyed the good mystery, the thrilling action, and of course, the cool Hardy brothers, Frank and Joe. 😎
Hardy Boys Adventures #12 The Madman of Black Bear Mountain
Great looking cover with excitement and danger from the rapids. 😎 Very cool. 😎 I hope that The Hardy Boys #80, The Roaring River Mystery, becomes available in ebook – I’d love to get that! 😎 Been searching for it! The thrills and chills of the Hardy brothers expertly and bravely navigating the rapids, along with rescues when necessary, can be found in a number of HB books. One of my favorites is The Hardy Boys #173 Speed Times Five. 😎

Hardy Boys Adventure #12 has a good pace and the action is fun and enjoyable. When the group of campers were going to take off in the small plane, I was there with them. It was scary, but hilarious! 😆 I loved reading about the character of Commander ‘Doc’ Gonzo – very entertaining right from his first appearance! 😀 To me he seemed somewhat like pilots ‘Howling Mad’ Murdock from the tv show A-Team, Jack Dalton from MacGyver and Orville and Wilbur, albatross from Rescuers and Rescuers Down Under (we have those on DVD and love ’em!). 😀 😆 Like I said, very enjoyable! 😀

There are some really exciting scenes in the adventure, particularly dealing with a rope bridge and the rapids below it. Gotta have danger and action for a good Hardy Boys, or Nancy Drew, mystery. 😎 I love the great brother team and reading of them working together and helping each other. It’s always cool to read how they outsmart criminals, help others, and never give up no matter what. 😎

As with all spooky myths, the one in the book is over-the-top and it was fun seeing it debunked. That’s not a spoiler, with the Hardys and Nancy that’s thankfully what they do – they refute rumors, myths and ghost stories, etc.. 🙂 Regarding the truth behind the myth, I liked the mystery of it and the way things worked out about the alleged madman. Can’t tell you more, you’ll have to read the book to find out. 😉

As much as I enjoyed this book, I didn’t enjoy the excerpt in the back for #13 Bound for Danger. 😦 The all caps shouting was overdone and distracting, but the main thing is wondering at the depiction of the principal. I’m going to assume, though, that it was not due to the hearing impairment that he got from fighting to protect peoples’ rights, but perhaps the position of principal in that, individually, some of them don’t always make sense, don’t always listen to students, and sometimes act in high-handed ways. So, I have hope for the rest of the book and hope to check it out when it’s available and see if it improves past the excerpt. 🙂

Hardy Boys Adventures #12, The Madman of Black Bear Mountain, is available in hardcover, paperback, and ebook from booksellers and libraries. 🙂 The paperback of this title looks very nice! That’s what I have. 🙂 Will I want to read it again? Well, of course! 😀

 

Disclaimer: Please feel free to ignore the random ads that pop up on the blog. I don’t choose them or have any say about what ones they are since this is a free blog. Most of the ads are pointless and irrelevant junk in my opinion.

10 thoughts on “Hardy Boys Adventures #12 The Madman of Black Bear Mountain ~ My Review

  1. Great review, Ann!! 🙂

    I would also love for The Roaring River Mystery to be made available in eBook!! 🙂 Hopefully they will put that one and the others we have been waiting on in eBook soon. I enjoyed Speed Times Five, also. 🙂

    The pilot brought to mind Murdock and Jack Dalton, too, Ann!! 😛 🙂 😆 You are right; I can see that the two albatross as well. 🙂

    As you so consistently do – you are absolutely right about the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew facts. And you did an excellet job with sharing information about the book without giving away any surprises. 😎 You are very good at that. 🙂

    About Bound for Danger, please let me know if it turns out to be readable. As I mentioned on another post here – https://hardyanddrewmysteries.wordpress.com/2016/01/03/hardy-boys-adventures-13-bound-for-danger/ – I believe it looks like a real stinker. Hopefully it is not. 🙂 But without your stamp of approval, I don’t want anywhere near that book and I’m certainly not putting any money into it.

    I look forward to re-reading The Madman of Black Bear Mountain as well as Showdown at Widow Creek. 🙂

    Thank you for the great review, Ann; you said it all very well. 🙂

    Callie 🙂

    • Thank you very much, Callie! 🙂

      That would be awesome – I’m going to keep looking! 🙂 Cool! 😀

      😀 Fun, isn’t it? 😀

      Thank you, Callie! 🙂 Really appreciate that. 🙂

      I’ll do that. 😎 Yep, I remember that. I still have hope for some of it. 🙂 Borrowing it always an option. 🙂

      Yep, me, too! 😎 I enjoyed them both a lot! 😀

      Thank you! 🙂

  2. Looks interesting. A pilot lika them combine. Oh, no. ✈🚁👮
    I just loved the A-team. Mostly Murdock. He was just plain crazy.😆😆
    And McGyver. Hope they show reruns soon. Brings back so many memories.
    The Rescuers. Loved it. Haven’t seen it since I was a child. To bad my daughter is a big girl now. 👧👱

    With love Helena

    • I think you’d enjoy the book for the fun and action, Helena. 🙂
      Cool! 😎 Yeah, Murdock is very entertaining! 😀 😎
      I hope they do, too, for you! 🙂
      I LOVE The Rescuers! 😀 All of these, A-Team, MacGyver, and The Rescuers (and Rescuers Down Under – also great!) are all on DVD – and should be available for your region format. Or maybe online? I just checked – looks like Amazon Video has them available. 🙂

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

