Nancy Drew Notebook #5 The Soccer Shoe Clue – My Review

I read The Soccer Shoe Clue last year during the summer and I think it’s great. I hadn’t read a Nancy Drew Notebook before that and this was a perfect one for me to read right off the bat. (Wrong sports metaphor there, I know. 😛 ) With the soccer/football mystery element, I had to read it first! Right away it was a hole in one…..(Still wrong sports metaphor 🙄 ).

Back to the mystery. I loved it! ♥ Definitely an enjoyable read that is good and realistic with Nancy, George, Bess, Hannah, and Carson Drew. The well-written mystery is intriguing, allowing the reader to find clues Nancy Drew Notebook #5 The Soccer Shoe Clueand try to figure out, from the various suspects, who might be the saboteur with motives and opportunities. The soccer/football is well-done. Not every sports-related mystery is a shot on goal. (There that’s the right sports metaphor! 😀 ).Yet, it also is interesting enough for someone who’s not a sports fan. The dialogue is good and flows well with believable, unique characters. This is an interesting mystery with a plot that isn’t too easy or too difficult. The sleuthing makes sense and the clues are fun to find.

As it shows on the cover, this is a “Ready-for-Chapters” mystery with shorter chapters and younger reading than the Nancy Drew series. Nancy, George and Bess are eight years old in this series, being friends, helping people, having adventures, and solving mysteries. It’s cool seeing them doing that whatever age they are. 🙂

Here’s the synopsis:

Kick! Splat! Yuck!
Who let the air out of the soccer ball? Who added salt to the water on the sidelines? Who put the red glop in the goalie’s soccer shoes?
It’s gooey. It’s gross. It’s not fair. Soccer is supposed to be a kick. But somebody’s being a drag. Nancy Drew wants to know who’s playing the silly games with her third grade soccer team!

I really enjoyed the whole book and how it worked out. I’ll definitely want to re-read it. And I’m trying others in the series, also. I think all Nancy Drew fans would enjoy this book. It has humor, mystery, a good pace, and the author wrote the characters right. That is very, very important to me! They all acted like themselves, being real, not lying, and being kind. As a mystery interwoven with a sport, this book helps point out that you can be competitive and not be a jerk. 😎

Nancy Drew Notebook #5 The Soccer Shoe Clue is available brand new in paperback and ebook from many booksellers. Hopefully it also can be checked out of your local library – it should be! 🙂 This one is a GOAL! 😀 And now you’ve read my review for The Soccer Shoe Clue! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: Please feel free to ignore the random ads that pop up on the blog. I don’t choose them or have any say about what ones they are since this is a free blog. Most of the ads are pointless and irrelevant junk in my opinion.

6 thoughts on “Nancy Drew Notebook #5 The Soccer Shoe Clue – My Review

  1. Great review, Ann!! 🙂 Yes, I love reading this book, too!! 🙂 It is one of the best; I’m glad you are enjoying reading this series!! 🙂 Thank you for the fun review to read; I enjoy the accuracy as well as your good wit. 😎 Callie

    • Thank you very much, Callie! 🙂 Yep, there are several really good ones so far, and this one is the best I’ve read of them. I’ve got more to read. 😀 Thanks! 🙂

  2. Excellent, Ann! 😀 😎 I want to read this one come Summer! 😀

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

  3. And maybe learn that the other contestants can be nice. Like when my daughter was in an archery contest and her opponents mother gave my daughter some sugar too keep her strength up. That was really good sportsmanship. 🙂

    • Excellent point, Helena. And that is very cool – your daughter being in an archery contest as well as the good sportmanship. 😎 Archery is really cool and so is helping others. 😎

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

