Happy Anniversary, Nancy Drew!

Nancy Drew #3 The Bungalow Mystery by Carolyn KeeneAs I mentioned in a previous post, the 28th of April, 2015 is the anniversary of when the exciting, much-loved, cool, popular series, Nancy Drew (Nancy Drew Mysteries/Nancy Drew Mystery Stories) began being published. The 85th anniversary to be exact. Mystery readers have had the opportunity to read Nancy’s thrilling adventures starting on this date in 1930, with the publication of the first three volumes, The Secret of the Old Clock, The Hidden Staircase, and The Bungalow Mystery. That was the start of another successful Edward Stratemeyer series, The Hardy Boys (The Hardy Boys Mystery Stories/The Hardy Boys Stories) series having been established in 1927. Both series being read and loved here and now in the 21st century. That’s pretty cool. The Nancy Drew series continued with new stories from 1930 until November 2003 with #175 (The Hardy Boys went to April 2005 with #190). I have a facsimile edition of books #1-#3 (unread as of yet) and I also have the revised editions, which I have read. 🙂 My favorite of the first three Nancy Drew books is #3 The Bungalow Mystery. 🙂

There are several essential characters who’ve helped Nancy a lot. Her dad, Carson, is a lawyer who loves his daughter, and although he’s always concerned for her safety, he’s super proud of her. Her boyfriend, Ned Nickerson, brave, loyal, and smart, lets Nancy know he loves her, not only by telling her, but also showing it with understanding and support. Hannah Gruen, the Drews’ housekeeper who’s been like a mother to Nancy. George Fayne and Bess Marvin, cousins who’ve stuck with Nancy through many dangerous situations. Also Helen Corning, a friend appearing in several books. And my favorite characters, the Hardy Boys, brothers Frank and Joe, fellow detectives and justice-seekers have worked with Nancy.

Important trivia if you don’t want to be wrong: Nancy was 16 years old in the first book. That means she isn’t 85 years old today – because she would have had to have been a baby in The Secret of the Old Clock – and maybe people really matured a lot quicker than us today, but she could drive a car, etc, so that’s just not in the realm of possibility for her to be an infant in the first book. So since she was 16 in the original, she would be 101, but with her being 18 in the revised edition of The Secret of the Old Clock, you could say she’s 103. But it is physically impossible for her to literally be 85 and not 101 or 103. 🙂 So if you read anywhere online that’s she 85, you know that’s incorrect and you know the actual facts. 😎 If you want to get really technical, The Secret of the Old Clock was written in 1929, so that would make her 102 or 104. 🙂

It’s not a mystery at all as to why Nancy (and the Hardy Boys) continue to be important, much-read characters. The answer is that readers who love action and mystery love reading about the adventures of people who have a strong sense of ethics and are willing to take on deadly foes murderously intent on getting away with a number of crimes. Bad individuals and groups get stopped and it’s good to see that. Plus Nancy and the Hardys keep their sense of humor, which also helps them. Smart, brave, loyal, compassionate, resourceful, quick-witted and wise are all words that describe Nancy Drew (and The Hardy Boys 😀 ). And I’m extremely thankful to know that there are people like them for real. 🙂

Nancy not only has a lot of books, but other items as well. My mom and dad got me a book about Madame Alexander dolls and it has in there about the doll made in Nancy’s honor. Plus, there are numerous movies, games, several alternate universe book series, and graphic novels from Papercutz. The games includes PC/Mac/tablet/phone games from HeR Interactive, including one of my favorite ones, The Secret of the Old Clock – which I like more than the book. 😎

So those of us who love an adventure want to read the exciting mysteries Nancy’s solved. You can find them on sale online or in bookstores, or check them out of public libraries in paperback, hardcover, and ebook. Puzzling clues and fascinating mysteries at a variety of locations await you! 🙂

Let me know what you like most about Nancy and if you have a favorite book or game! 🙂

25 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary, Nancy Drew!

  1. Great article, Ann! 🙂 I enjoyed reading it; you know your stuff. 😎 Thank you for your continual dedication to Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys facts; it is so nice to see actual truth on the Internet somewhere. 🙂 You’ve got true information and explain it very well, Ann. 😎 Thank you!! 🙂

    One of the things I like most about Nancy is her dedication to being observant. It is essential in detective work and crime fighting, as well as in every day life. 😎 There are so many good books in the Nancy Drew Mysteries; it is almost impossible to name a favorite. 🙂 As to the computer games, one of the ones I most enjoy playing is The Secret of Shadow Ranch. 🙂 Callie

    • Thank you, Callie! 🙂 Facts are important to me. Thanks! 🙂

      Very important. 😎 So true. 😎 Yep, I’ve got several favorites, so it’s not easy to name just one. I’m not very good at doing that, but I love to ask people that question. 😛 Oh, I love The Secret of Shadow Ranch game! 😎 Definitely one of my favorites, too! 🙂 I’m ready to play that one again! 😀

  2. I started by reading Nancy Drew (or Kitty Drew as she is called in Sweden) when I was in my early teens. My sister always said to others “Give her a Nancy Drew-book and she is occupied for the evening”

    With love Helena

    • That’s so interesting that she’s called Kitty there in Sweden. I’ve seen some cool covers online of Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books from Sweden. Cool, that can make a very fun and exciting evening reading a good Nancy Drew mystery. 😎 Thanks for sharing, Helena. 🙂

  3. Quite right, Ann, and very eloquently written! 😎 🙂 Also, it was good to know which one is your favorite of the first 3 Nancy Drew books and one of your favorite game. 😎

    Nancy is 18 years old for me, unless I am reading the Clue Crew books. 😉 🙂

    Hey, you didn’t include the fanfictions or is it that they do not count?

    From among the few Nancy Drew books I have read so far, I liked the Girl Detective series books better. Of course, it is quite likely that I have yet to read the good ones from the original series. 😉 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Ritu! 🙂 I like the hidden staircase in the second book, but the overall best of the three is definitely The Bungalow Mystery. I hope you get to read it soon and play The Secret of the Old Clock game – I think you’d really enjoy both. 🙂

      Lol, yep. 🙂

      Oh, I just named a few different items, but I didn’t intentionally leave out fanfiction, and of course the good ones count.

      Yep, I think there are a number of books you’ll enjoy. I haven’t read all of the books in the original series, but some I love and also there are definitely a few that I didn’t like and there’s been some in the Girl Detective series that I’ve liked so much better. 😎 For example, I like Girl Detective #2 A Race Against Time and I absolutely can’t stand #12 The Message in the Hollow Oak.

  4. One of the things I like best about Nancy is her attitude. She’s strong and smart so she doesn’t have to go around acting obnoxious, but instead is confident. So that’s really cool. 8)

    And it’s great seeing the accuracy on here about the math and all, because I’ve definitely noticed other places online that are inaccurate about stuff. So thumbs up! 🙂

    Oh, um, favorite book or game, I’ll think on it and see if I can pick one. 😛

    • Definitely, Hardy Sleuth. So true – Nancy’s personality is a huge reason for her popularity. She’s truly smart and cool and not a mean girl. 😎

      Thanks! 🙂 It’s surprising about the errors you can come across online.

      Okay! 🙂

      • Yeah, thought about it…still don’t have it completely narrowed down to one book or game, but that’s not a surprise. 😛 I really like the game Secret of Shadow Ranch like Callie, and gotta love Last Train to Blue Moon Canyon with the Hardys. I liked some things about The Creature at Kapu Cave, such as The Hardys!, but some stuff in the game I didn’t, Let’s see, yep, love The Secret of the Old Clock game. I’m going to say, one of several favorite ND games would have to be Danger on Deception Island and book, one of!, um, Lilac Inn. 🙂

        • And you don’t have to narrow it down! 😀 Lol, nope, not a surprise at all! 😉 Love those!! 😎 And yep, exactly with Kapu Cave. I don’t like seeing idols and the one part was gross! 😛 The Secret of Shadow Ranch – great game! 😀 I need to do some reviews – more books and also games! 🙂

  5. Very good post, Ann – you always do such a great job here!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    One of the things I like best about Nancy Drew is her genuine thoughtfulness toward others. 🙂 😎 Mystery of the Moss-Covered Mansion is one of the books I especially enjoy reading – there’s also The Mystery at Lilac Inn – & Whispers in the Fog – & many more!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 My favorite game….let’s see…that would probably be Danger on Deception Island. 😀 😎 Thanks for asking, Ann. 🙂

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

    • Thanks, Lily! 🙂 Glad you feel that about the blog! 🙂

      That’s a great thing, I agree. Nancy and the Hardys truly care. 😎 Oh, I have Mystery of the Moss-Covered Mansion waiting on me – maybe we can read it at the same time? 😎 Oh, definitely, The Mystery at Lilac Inn and Whispers in the Fog – two of my favorites. I love that game!!! 😀 No problem – thanks for sharing! 🙂

      • Yes, I’d love to read it together!!!!! 😀 😀 Even though I’m not a fan of space exploration, the Florida “space place” being in the book doesn’t take away from the enjoyment of this excellent book! 😀 😎 The space connection is cool – One Direction’s new video (for their newest hit song, “Drag Me Down” – which is actually a very upbeat song in lyrics & tempo! 😀 😎 ) is reportedly filmed at the Texas space place. 😀 😎 I’m looking forward to seeing it!! 😀 😀 😀 Louis, Harry, Niall & Liam do cool videos. 😀 😎 Everyone behind the scenes always do great work, too. 😀 😎

        Say when you’re ready to read!!!!! 😀 😀 😎

        Appreciating the good things,
        Lily

        • Awesome! 🙂 That’s so cool you saying about 1D – when I had first heard about where they were filming the video, that’s really the first time anything to do with NASA has actually excited me like this. 😀 I LOVE “Drag Me Down” – I’ve played it sooo many times since it was released! Should be a fun video!!! 😀 😎

          Ok! 🙂

          • Cool! 😀 As I’m sure you already know – the video has been released since you replied here – & it’s supercool!!!!! 😀 😎 A cool video for a cool song! 😎

            Okeydokey! 🙂

            Appreciating the good things,
            Lily

            • Yep! Love the song and the video! Wow, they were very authentic with the gear and I think they had a lot of fun checking out the different stuff there like Louis driving the truck and Niall with the harness and Liam training and Harry hanging out with the robot. I’m ready to watch it again. I looooooove the song – it’s been very helpful to me. 🙂 😎

              • I totally agree, Ann 😀 – excellent music, video & authenticity by Louis, Harry, Niall & Liam! 😀 😎 Great stuff! 😀 😎

                I’m glad it helped you. 🙂

                Appreciating the good things,
                Lily

    • YEAH!!!!! 😀 😀 😎 😎

      Appreciating the good things,
      Lily

      Anyone who wants to read it now, too – please do! 🙂

      • I finished it! 🙂 Good, unique mystery! 🙂 Love that Ned and Nancy were investigating together. A lot of action and George had some great lines! 😎 I’ll get my review up sometime! 😛

        • Cool!!!!! 😀 😎 I’ll save my comments for then, too 🙂 – except for this one: I loved reading this book!!!!! 😀 & this one: did you notice, like I did, that the astronauts were especially handsome? 😉 🙂 (Yeah, I pictured Louis, Harry, Niall & Liam. 😎 )

          I really enjoyed reading this book together 🙂 – thanks!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

          Appreciating the good things,
          Lily

          • Ok, great! 😀 I don’t have my review done yet – hopefully next week some time! 😀 Picturing Niall, Louis, Harry, & Liam as the astronauts – gorgeous! 😀 😀 😀 😀

            Me, too, Lily! 🙂 A good mystery is made even better with a cool friend! 🙂 Thank you! 🙂

            • Cool!!!!! 😀 😎 Yeah!!!!! 😀 😎

              🙂 Thanks 😀 – I agree!!!!! 😀 😎 🙂

              Appreciating the good things,
              Lily

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

