The Hardy Boys Papercutz Graphic Novel #4 Malled – My Review

Hardy Boys Graphic Novel #4 Malled from PapercutzIn the fourth volume of the Hardy Boys’ graphic novel series by Papercutz, Malled, there’s action, danger, bravery, humor, mystery, and the Hardy brothers. 😀 

The book starts with some thrilling excitement as the brothers and another special agent use some of their skills to do their best to stop evil. I like the way the UBs do that, starting with the big finale of a case with the ultimate capturing of the bad people they’re after at the time then there’s a short breather, very short breather, followed by the next ATAC mission. 😎

I really enjoyed the good brotherly fun when Frank and Joe were goofing around. Great quote in the book by Frank after being asked what could be more exciting than getting to test a new mall ~ Frank: “Honestly? You want a list?” 😎 Cracked me up. 😀

I love seeing the rest of the Hardy family in the books. Fenton, Laura, and Aunt Trudy (in #2 Identity Theft we find out how and when she gets that nickname 😉 ) were all in this one, which was very cool. 

Also cool to see Chief Collig in this mystery, who along with the Hardy brothers, focused on saving lives and catching the person or persons trying to kill people. The only ones at the mall that I personally trusted fully were Joe, Frank, and Chief Collig. Everyone else there = suspects. 

Unscrupulous and unethical dealings by more than one person clearly started even before the building of the huge mall, which resulted in the crime of stolen land. The Hardy brothers had to sort out motives and opportunities so they could try to keep everyone there from being murdered. Plus, they wanted to see justice and be a part of that. Their willingness to do the right, brave thing is always essential and I admire that very much. 😎

Courage fuels the exciting action during the daring rescues that take place in Malled. Would have been great if they could have prevented the murder, but they didn’t give up in their fight to stop additional murders. The Hardys and myself and anyone else with compassion were sickened by the mall owner’s, Harlan Spratt, and the mayor’s assistant’s, Paige Kent, lack of decency and morality, brought to light by their comments that showed more interest in money than someone’s life. 😡 Greed is an evil, ugly thing.

You don’t get to find out exactly what happens later, but if justice is served, then the tribe whose land had been stolen now has a nice, lucrative mall. 😎

I love Joe’s smart-mouth during a close call with one of the rescues – definitely among my favorite quotes and scenes in the book. He was asked by the person he saved: “Couldn’t cut it any closer?” Joe’s classic response? “Want to try again?” 😎

The Hardy brothers did a great job and I love that it was noted that they were trained by their dad and ATAC just reinforced it. 😎 

A digital review copy (drc) was given to me by Papercutz. Thanks, Beth – not only for getting them to me, but also for the great work you did with the digital versions. 😀 Thank you, Sven. 😀 Thanks again also to Jesse, who first contacted me to offer me the Papercutz review copies. 😀

The Hardy Boys Papercutz Graphic Novel #4 Malled has been published in paperback, hardcover, and ebook. 🙂

Hardy Boys Graphic Novel #4 Malled @ Papercutz
Hardy Boys Graphic Novel #4 Malled @ Amazon Kindle

18 thoughts on “The Hardy Boys Papercutz Graphic Novel #4 Malled – My Review

  1. I loved reading your review, Ann! 😀 😎 This looks like a great book to add to my Hardy Boys shelves! 😀 😎 The quotes you shared & comments you made definitely makes this book look appealing. 😀 You’re my exclusive source for recommended books that qualify as real Hardy Boys books – because you know when it’s real. 😎 Thanks! 😀

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

    • Thank you, Lily – I’m really glad that you enjoyed it! 🙂 You know when it’s real, too. 🙂 You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. Great review, Ann! 😎 😀 Thanks for those fun quotes, too! 🙂 I remember enjoying the danger, action and the humor in this book. 😎 Chief Collig presence was sure a plus! 🙂 You brought back so many memories of this book! 🙂 Thanks for the opportunity. 🙂

    • Thanks, Ritu! 😀 You’re welcome. 🙂 Yep, I was so glad you got to read this one and others. 🙂 I agree, pretty cool that Chief Collig was there. 😎 Cool – glad to hear it! 🙂

  3. Another excellent review, Ann! 😀 Based on what you said, I think Malled should be included in my Hardy Boys book and eBook collection. 😎 Thank you! 😀 Callie

  4. I just read your review and it sounds interesting…
    before I read it though, is there any brotherly love? That’s my fave thing about the Hardy Boys. 🙂 ❤

  5. I finished reading #4 Malled today, and I liked it! 🙂
    My favourite part was when Frank said, ” I’m not much for shopping, I admit. But I appreciate man’s need for a place to congregate. ”
    Then Joe said, ” I’m for any place where lots of young women gather. ”
    Frank, then, shoved Joe playfully and said, “unfortunately, that doesn’t include the audio visual lab- where we volunteered this study period. ”

    Loved that scene. 🙂 ❤

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

