Stan Goldberg – The Interview Issue 3!

Hola! Ready for the spectacular 3rd issue of Stan Goldberg – The Interview? I hope so, because it’s coming at you in mere seconds, friends! ;) Get set to find out more awesome clues about cool artist, Stan Goldberg! :cool: Thank you so very much to Stan for the time he’s put into this interview and for sharing such great answers to my unique questions. Thank you also to everyone who’s given feedback – it’s very much appreciated and fun. :) Be sure to check out every issue of the interview because you won’t want to miss a single second. :)

 Now, let’s get straight to the action! :cool:

1. Do you like to listen to music (instrumental or with vocals) while you draw?Jughead's on the Jazz

Stan – Years ago I did some writing and my studio had to be perfectly still.  No radio at all.  Any sound would disturb me.  Then, when I did more art I did less writing.  When I do my artwork, I enjoy the working day much more and the radio is on all the time.  I listen to talk stations for half the day and for the rest of the day I play my music…big bands, good jazz and blues.  I occasionally take the time to enjoy the beautiful water view from my studio window.

Ann – Getting to do what you love is a wonderful blessing! I’m glad you enjoy drawing so much. And that’s also really cool about the music you enjoy listening to! Sounds like you’ve got a beautiful view from your studio – excellent! :)The Amazing Spider-Man 1975 147 Spanish edition

2. Do you draw even when you’re not working?

Stan – I always take a sketch pad with me whenever I travel.  We spend two months every winter in a colonial town in Mexico.  It’s a very artistic community, lots of artists and writers.  While I’m there, I go to a life drawing studio a couple of times a week.  I’ve also had a few galleries in town showing drawings of the local people that I draw along with my cartoon illustrations.Spider-Man and Hulk Spanish edition

Ann – Sounds picturesque and fun! :D (Note: I found some awesome Marvel Spanish covers online including two of the comic covers from the first issue of this interview. :) Very cool! :D Check them out – por favor! Gracias!)

3. What was it like working with Marvel Comics? I’m a big Spidey fan. :)

Stan – I worked for Marvel in charge of the coloring department, never realizing that the comic book industry would become the giant that it is today.  Creating all the color schemes for all the superheroes and villains that came out of Marvel makes me very proud.  Stan Lee was my editor and he was a major influence in the early years of my career.  After almost ten years working in the bullpen I became friends with all the other artists and we stayed friends for many years.The Amazing Spider-Man 1963

Ann – That had to have been so much fun at Marvel!!! :D Wow, just so awesome to get to decide all of those essential color schemes for Marvel! :D That’s what I call superfun! :D

BOLO for the next exciting issue in this four part series: Stan Goldberg – The Interview! :cool: 

                                                                                                                                          ~ Ann (a Stan fan :D)

19 thoughts on “Stan Goldberg – The Interview Issue 3!

  1. Ready! :D Yes, thank you, Mr. Goldberg! :D It has been my pleasure to comment on these interview issues, Ann; thank you for giving us the opportunity to express our appreciation of this fine artist. :)

    Wow! :D Thank you so much for allowing us to see – and hear! ;) – what it is like in your studio, Mr. Goldberg. :) You are an excellent and gracious host. :)

    The comics featured are well chosen, Ann. :) I like how you take the time and care to be purposeful, using correlating covers for highlighting Stan Goldberg’s interview answers. :)

    Your sketchpad must be a treasure, Mr. Goldberg. :D All of your work that I have had the pleasure of seeing has a warmth and intriguing genuineness to it; thank you again for sharing your art with the rest of the world. :) I respect your standards.

    I could not imagine an artist (whether they draw characters, paint pictures with words, write lyrics or music, or any of the many other forms of true art) not having a sketchpad or notebook handy! :) We must have something to put our art onto when the inspiration comes to us; having to postpone its physical recording can result in missing some of its aspects that originally came with the inspiration itself.

    It was an excellent decision to place you in charge of choosing colors, Mr. Goldberg; it is almost staggering to try and imagine the Marvel Comics characters different than they are! :o

    Thank you both for interview issue three! :) I look forward to the next issue! :cool: Callie

    • :) You’re welcome – I’m very honored to. :)

      Thanks, Callie! :) It’s so much fun checking out the covers – I already loved doing that – and then getting to figure out which ones to have on here’s very enjoyable! :)

      You said everything so eloquently, Callie, thank you for sharing your thoughts. :cool:

      • :)

        You are welcome, Ann. :) That is very cool! :)

        Thank you for the compliment; I enjoyed it. :) This is an excellent interview series, Ann. :) Callie

        • You’re welcome, Callie. :) I’m always anxious to see what you have to say. :) Thank you! :) I’m enjoying it so very much – and can still hardly believe it! :D :cool:

          • Thank you, Ann. :) You are welcome. :) That is good! :D I keep thinking the same thing; it is so cool to get to read this interview series with Stan Goldberg, realizing that he might be reading my words, too – I appreciate the opportunity to say thank you to him for sharing his gift with us. :) Callie

    • Beautifully and correctly expressed! :cool: Callie, I also love reading what you say! :cool: :)

  2. Another awesome issue! :D Really cool stuff! Thanks! :) Love it and looking forward to the next part! I’ve gotta go tell other friends that two more parts have been posted so they can come and read them! :)

  3. Cool questions! :) Cool answers! :) Cool covers! :) I enjoyed reading this issue, too! :cool: :) Thanks! :D

    • Hi Ritu! :D Thank you so much! :) I’m really glad! :) You’re welcome. :) I’ll hopefully have the 4th one posted very soon! :)

  4. To Stan G :D & Stan Lee :D & the many other artists who made the comics so good :D : thank you! :D :cool:

    I’m enjoying these interview issues very much, Ann! :D Great job! :D :cool:

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

  5. I am glad for Mr. Goldberg’s choices on color schemes for Marvel because they continue to be so readily recognizable. I couldn’t imagine them any other way. And I LOVE these comic book covers alongside the interview. Very nice. :-)
    And yes- I can’t imagine an artist or a writer not having a sketchpad or notebook at their side- you never know when God will send the right inspiration- always good to be at the ready. :-) Thanks for another great interview session.

    • Exactly – any other colors just wouldn’t seem right! Thank you, I love looking up cool cover art! :D And as you can tell – I love Spidey! :D I really want to read the comics that go with these covers. Yep, that’s right – good to be ready! :) You’re welcome, MacGyver! :)

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

