The Hardy Boys Papercutz Graphic Novel #3 Mad House – My Review

Mad House is the third volume of Papercutz’s awesome Hardy Boys graphic novel series.

Ok, so I’m not going in order, but I was re-reading this one the other day and just had to go ahead and review it! :D I love the action, the humor, and the Hardy brothers, Frank and Joe! :cool: Again, so much good stuff – where do I start? Oh, the beginning of the graphic novel you say? Alright, I can do that. :D

First chapter and immediately you’re in the middle of an action-packed scene – awesome! Frank is airborne on a snowmobile before touching down on the ground again and zooming over the snow-covered ground. Joe is slicing through the air on a custom snowboard, maneuvering with some trick moves through the crisp air with a grin on his face. So is this just a regular race to see who wins? No way, much more is at stake than any competition – we’re talking about lives at risk – including Frank and Joe’s. The two brothers aren’t racing against each other, they’re racing to get to a downed British agent who is injured and stay ahead of the armed bad guys trying to stop them with bullets. They have their work cut out for them, but they can do it. :cool:

Plus there’s a discussion between the brothers about the meaning of “fun”. :D

It’s a daring, pulse-pounding rescue that has you anxious to see what happens next. As the Hardy brothers help out MI 6, take a guess about who the downed agent is? ;) And he’s heard of the Hardy brothers! :cool: Pretty clear from the drawings and the words that it is one Bond, James Bond! :D

After all of that excitement in the Swiss Alps, rescuing you-know-who, the next day is school and almost everyone’s talking about the reality show, Mad House, that is going to be filming in Bayport. Students from Bayport High are applying to be on the show.

Btw, you can find out whether Joe did well on his trig exam! ;)

Frank and Joe soon receive their mission, disguised as an ordinary video game that reformats after they watch it – which I still think is cool. Yep, I like that stuff. :D They aren’t fans of the Mad House show, but they are willing to go try to make sure no one else gets hurt on the show like people had been that season – and to stop what is going on before anyone gets killed. One of the suspicions is that the “accidents” are instigated for ratings. A sad, sickening possibility.

There are unique characters introduced as part of the cast and crew for the Bayport filming of Mad House at a renovated farmhouse. I like the Todster, a cool surfer dude, a lot :cool: and found Lester Worley interesting (he’s smart, I didn’t like his conceit though, but he got better). I like Ronald Johnson, too. :cool:

Joe is a contestant while Frank is one of the production crew; both able to move around and sleuth without making anyone suspicious. :cool:

Smart-mouth Joe easily outwits obnoxious Brian Conrad – I laughed and enjoyed all of that so much. :cool: And I also really enjoyed the quick, observant action of Frank when he saved Brian’s life. Up top, dude! :D

Edge-of-your-seat barn fire and rescue scenes! Whew! Frank and Joe bravely take dangerous death-defying risks to save peoples’ lives. You can see why I love the Hardy brothers – they’re cool and inspiring. :cool: Frank and Joe get angry when the two camera guys keep filming when they could have been helping. Then once the crisis is over, Brian tries to take the glory (for doing nothing) and the ensuing scenes are great! :D

I like the way the contestants – or at least some of them – banded together to help each other. That’s realistic because some people, like Frank and Joe, help out and think of others, while some people, like Brian, think only of themselves. Although Brian did have a moment of compassion in the story when he was worried about his sister and showed that he is capable of caring about someone other than himself, so that was cool and good to see. :cool:

There are a number of suspects with motive and opportunity. I like trying to solve the puzzle and figure out what is going on – wait! :eek: The thrilling scenes with the sabotaged tractor are demanding my attention! More great action and danger. And Frank telling Joe to “be careful” – isn’t he always, Frank? :P ;) Excellent job with Plan B, Joe! ;) Lives are rescued! :)

After the great action and all, comes my least favorite part of the book because a person is murdered. :( Now the Hardys have to find and stop a murderer.

Some tense moments as the murderer also finds them. And thankfully the Hardys aren’t alone in their fight for justice. :cool: I could say soooo much more but I don’t want to give anything away!

I agree wholeheartedly with Frank’s comments about how sad it was that the criminal chose greed. As Frank said, “In real life, actions have consequences.” So true.

Character note: Chief Ezra Collig is in this graphic novel! I always like noting what characters are in the various books. :cool:

So much I loved about the epilogue “Home Again, Home Again…” with the Hardy family and guests – some great stuff! :cool: Joe isn’t an early “m’n’ng” person! ;)

You’ve got courage, humor, compassion, and action in this graphic novel – qualities you always want to find in books with the Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew. :cool:

22 thoughts on “The Hardy Boys Papercutz Graphic Novel #3 Mad House – My Review

  1. I love reading your reviews, Ann! They are always so informative and fun! :D

    The beginning is a very good place to start. ;) Looks like it starts off great – always a good way to begin a book! ;) You said it right; we do expect to see certain qualities in a book with Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew printed on the cover. :cool:

    Hardy Boys graphic novel #3 should be in my collection! :D I am looking forward to this book and will gladly return to comment on it. :cool: Callie

    • :) Thank you, Callie – very happy you think that! :)

      LOL! Yep, I thought so! :D Yep, a great start is important….it’s rare if a book starts off really slow then turns into a great story, but Mad House is excellent right from the first page! :cool: Thanks, yep, we’ve read well-written mysteries and know how the characters act. :cool:

      Looking forward to reading what you have to say! :) Enjoy! :)

    • I am sure you will also like it, Callie! :) Like Ann said, it has all of those things that we love about these books! :cool: :)

  2. Awesome, Ann! :cool: :D I love reading a book again through your eyes – you just put so much more into it! :cool: :D I agree with everything you have said…um, except one thing :P, why you said “Joe isn’t an early “m’n’ng” person”? Am I missing something here?

    I also enjoyed reading this ‘very action-packed and yet not any less in emotions and humour’ book! :cool: It is one of my favorite! :)

    • Thank you very much, Ritu – what a compliment! :) Oh, that was about the last chapter, Frank greets his brother with a hearty “Morning” and Joe responds with “M’n’ng” and I thought that was really cute. :D So that was what I was referring to. :)

      I’m so glad you had a chance to read it and that you also enjoyed it so much! :) Yep, I agree – it has all of those things action, emotion, and humor. :cool: Absolutely one of mine, too! :cool:

  3. This book is a great addition to my Hardy collection! :D The first chapter is full of action and excitement! :cool: The illustrator, Daniel Rendon, did a fine job drawing Frank and Joe. :) I am soaking in each detail of the book – the story, the illustrations, the lettering – as I go from one colorful page to the next. :) Callie

    • Yep! :cool: Oh yes, he’s really talented! :cool: Exactly, I love to do that, too, taking in all of the great things about it! :cool: Excellent graphic novel! :cool:

  4. To me, this book is the best one yet! :D You know book one was great, too. :) I am so happy to have them both in my Hardy Boys collection! :D I look forward to adding more as I read your reviews, Ann; thank you! :D Callie

  5. This 1 is my favorite graphic novel! :cool: :D :cool:

    I also appreciated that Frank & Joe aren’t fans of “reality” shows! :cool: I believe that a lot of acting & behind-the-scenes work goes into making those “reality” shows, so, you know, all of those people deserve credit for making “reality” shows the unrealistic phenomenon that they are! ;) :P It proves that something doesn’t have to be genuine to be popular – a point that is made repeatedly in shows, movies & the media. Yep, I’m not a fan of lies & sensationalism, either. :cool: When I found out that this graphic novel had its setting in a “reality” show, I wasn’t exactly happy about that :( – it could’ve been really lame. I’m so happy that Ann had read it & told me how good it actually was! :D The author & artists told it more in the Hardy reality than TV’s idea of reality, which I found very refreshing! :D :cool: Okeydokey, I’m done with that subject for the moment! :P :D

    I loved reading your groovy review for this groovy graphic novel! :D :cool: :D :cool:

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

    • One of my favorites, too! :D :cool:

      Yep, that makes total sense for Frank and Joe not to be fans of reality shows, too, because the Hardy brothers deal with reality. :cool: LOL! :D Yep! This is an excellent read to read many times! :D Yeah, I’m ready to read it again! :D

      Thank you – I’m glad! :)

Please leave a reply - that would be awesome! :)

